Skip to content

Sleep

December 30, 2012

How do I bruise my knuckles in my sleep?
Who am I punching so hard
it leaves marks?
How do my nails get torn?
Who do I scratch at –
fight at – pull at?
The bruises on my thighs,
where do they come from?
Are they phantom reminders
of a romance I can’t remember?
The handprint on my arm,
why did I grip myself
so tight,
holding me back from who knows what.

in my dreams, my body attacks-
in the morning I look in the mirror,
in my skin, in my eyes
and wonder
‘What do you know about my violent dreams?’

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

