Skip to content
Tags

I kept you like…

September 6, 2012

I kept you like a coat on a hook
Only reaching for you when I wanted
You were always there, I didn’t have to look
Underneath my fingertips, worn out and haunted.

I’d wear you out to someplace nice
Somewhere fancy where you could even smile
You don’t have to explain it doesn’t work this way twice
Whisper in my wine before you run the farthest mile
Away

Always away,
from me
Couldn’t you
just try to be
Just for a second
Just for now

Let me lay you down upon a bed, press you close
And search your inner linings
For the secrets that you keep

This is how
It is
I’ll wear you for the night and hang you up again
This is the way it is.
Don’t even try to pretend
You don’t know.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

