Skip to content

more Garner files-

March 9, 2012

I’ve been asked again and again, “How do you want to be remembered?” I usually say I don’t care, but that’s not true. I want to have accomplished something, to have made a contribution to the world. It would be wonderful if just one person looked at my life and said, “If he could overcome that, maybe I can, too.”

Beyond that, I think an actor can contribute by making people forget their troubles for an hour or two. Call it relief, escape, diversion…I think one of the greatest gifts is being able to make people happy. I like to make people happy.

So, if anybody asks, “How do you want to be remembered?” I tell them:

“With a smile.”

– James Garner (The Garner Files)

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

