Skip to content
Tags

Poetry after midnight

January 5, 2012

‘Interruption’

 

I drink the coffee left over from yesterday and I remember

the way things were then

 

and how they’ve gone since

is not always how I planned the day

 

this is a lesson to myself

one I will forget

 

you make a list

mental, physical – words

on paper or your mind

regardless, they are there

and you check them off

as you do them

one by one

 

except there’s an interruption

a phone call

a conversation

a disruption

 

and the list, the plan, the day

is discarded before I had a chance

to reconsider

 

I need to rewire my brain

and remind myself

that there can be a plan b

 

that not everything is wasted

simply because it was interrupted

 

but some days that is hard

 

I hope the coffee will remind me.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

